Cultural Interface of India With South Asia

Pub. Date: 2009
Print ISBN-13: 9788175331686
Subject: History & Culture
Price: USD 70.00 USD 52.5

South Asia, also known as southern asia, is a southern region of the Asian continent, which comprises seven countries- India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, Maldives and Bhutan. Almost all South Asian countries were under direct or indirect Colonial subjugation at some point. India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Myanmar were colonies of Great Britain from 1757 to 1947, almost 200 years. Since 1947, most South Asian countries have achieved tremendous progress in all spheres. Most notable achievements are in the fields of education, industry, health care, information technology and services based on its applications, research in the fields of cutting edge sciences and technologies, defence related self-reliance projects, international/global trade and business enterprises and outsourcing of human resources. Areas of difficulty remain, however, including religious extremism, high levels of corruption, disagreements on political boundaries, and inequitable distribution of wealth. This book has separate chapters on each of the south Asian countries with their history, culture, literature, customs and rituals, economy etc. Historical, political and economical relations between India and other South Asian countries have been defined as a separate chapter.