Constitution Laws

Pub. Date: 2013
Print ISBN-13: 9788175334502
Subject: Law
Price: USD 40.00 USD 30

The majority of the Indian Subcontinent was under British colonial from 1947. This Period saw the gradual rise of the Indian nationalist movement to gain independence from the foreign rule. The movement culminated in the formation of the Dominion of Indian on 15 August 1947, along with the Dominion of Pakistan. The Constitution of India was adopted on 26 January 1950, which proclaimed India to be a sovereign Democratic republic. It contained the founding principles of the laws of the land which would govern India after its independence from the British rule. On the day the constitution come into effect, India ceased to be a dominion of the British Crown. A constitution is a written document that contains a set of rules for a government. It defines the fundamental political principles, and establishing the structure, procedures, powers and duties, of a government. By limiting the government own reach, most constitutions guarantee certain rights to the people. The term constitution can be applied to any overall law that defines the functioning of a government. The Constitution of India is the World’s lengthiest written constitution with 395 articles and 8 schedules. It contains the good point taken from the Constitution’s of many countries in the world. It was passed on 26 November 1949 by the Constitution Assembly and is fully applicable since 26 Jan. 1950. The Constituent Assembly had been elected for undivided India and held its first sitting on 9th Dec. 1946,re-assembled on the 14th August 1947,as the Sovereign Constituent Assembly for the dominion of India. In regards to its composition the members were elected by indirect election by the members of the Provisional Legislative Assemblies (lower house only). At the time of signing 284 out of 299 members of the assembly were present. India is a federal system in which residual powers of Legislation remain with the central government, similar to that in Canada. The Constitution provides details lists dividing up power between central and state government as in Australia and it elaborates a set of Direct Principles of State Policy as dose the Irish Constitution.